QuickBooks is the accounting software most U.S. small businesses know by name, but reliable numbers about it are scarce — most "QuickBooks stats" online are unsourced. The only authoritative figures are the ones Intuit reports itself, so those are the only ones on this page.
The QuickBooks and Intuit figures
The figures below come from Intuit's fourth-quarter and full-year fiscal 2026 results, published August 25, 2026 — the numbers Intuit reports to its shareholders and the SEC for the fiscal year that ended July 31, 2026. QuickBooks is reported inside the Global Business Solutions segment, and the "Online Ecosystem" line within it is the portion driven by QuickBooks Online and related online services.
| Metric | Figure | Source & period |
|---|---|---|
| Intuit total revenue | $21.4 billion (up 14% year over year) | Intuit FY2026 results, fiscal 2026 |
| Global Business Solutions revenue (contains QuickBooks) | $12.9 billion (up 16% for the year) | Intuit FY2026 results, fiscal 2026 |
| Online Ecosystem revenue (QuickBooks Online and related) | $9.9 billion (up 19%) | Intuit FY2026 results, fiscal 2026 |
| QuickBooks Online Accounting revenue growth | Up 23% for the year | Intuit FY2026 results, fiscal 2026 |
| Online Services revenue growth | Up 16% for the year | Intuit FY2026 results, fiscal 2026 |
| Intuit customers worldwide (all products) | Approximately 100 million | Intuit FY2026 results — company description, not a reported fiscal-year metric |
Statistics verified: September 2026 · every figure re-checked against Intuit’s latest published release, after first confirming that release is the latest
How these figures were compiled
What is counted: only figures Intuit itself publishes in its investor releases and filings, in Intuit’s own terms and for the fiscal year Intuit assigns them. Intuit’s fiscal year ends 31 July, so “fiscal 2026” is not the calendar year.
What is excluded: user counts, market share, and subscription prices. Intuit does not publish a current QuickBooks subscriber figure we can cite, so none appears here — a number that circulates widely online is not the same as a number its owner published. We do not quote Intuit’s product pricing anywhere on this site, because it changes and is theirs to state.
How it is kept current: figures move when Intuit publishes a newer release, and the verification date changes only when each number has actually been re-checked against the source. The check starts with the source, not with our own page: we confirm which release is Intuit’s latest before comparing any figure to the release we already cite. That order matters. At the previous check this page matched Intuit’s fiscal-2025 release exactly — but fiscal 2026 had been published on 25 August 2026, so matching the older release proved only that we had copied it correctly. This round moves every figure to fiscal 2026. One change to note for the next comparison: Intuit began managing Mailchimp as a separate operating segment on 1 August 2026 and reports it separately from fiscal 2027, so fiscal 2027’s Global Business Solutions figure will not be like-for-like with the fiscal 2026 figure above.
How to cite this page
QuickBooks and Intuit statistics, from Intuit’s published results · Abid, Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisor · https://qbspecialist.com/resources/statistics/quickbooks-statistics/ · verified September 2026 against Intuit’s fiscal 2026 results. Figures are Intuit’s own; cite Intuit’s release directly for the underlying data.
Read together, these figures describe a large, still-growing online accounting business: QuickBooks Online Accounting revenue rose 23 percent for the year, and the broader Online Ecosystem it anchors reached $9.9 billion. The 100 million customer figure is Intuit-wide — it spans TurboTax, Credit Karma, and Mailchimp as well as QuickBooks — so we present it as an Intuit total, not a QuickBooks user count, because Intuit does not state a single public QuickBooks-only subscriber number in this release. It is Intuit’s own description of its customer base rather than a figure reported for the fiscal year, and the table labels it that way.
Fiscal 2026, drawn to scale
Read this as text
Intuit reported $21.4 billion in total revenue for fiscal 2026; the Global Business Solutions segment, which contains QuickBooks, was $12.9 billion of it, and the Online Ecosystem within that segment — QuickBooks Online and related services — was $9.9 billion, up 19 percent for the year. Source: Intuit fiscal 2026 results, fiscal year ended July 31, 2026.
What we deliberately leave out
We do not publish a QuickBooks "market share" percentage, a QuickBooks-versus-competitor user ratio, or a single QuickBooks Online subscriber count, because Intuit does not state those figures in the filings we cite and the third-party versions are almost never sourced. That gap is honest: an accurate blank is better than a confident guess. If Intuit reports a QuickBooks-specific subscriber figure in a future filing, it will appear here with its fiscal year attached — and not before.
The reason this matters for your books is the same reason it matters for a statistic: a number is only as good as the source you can trace it to. When we review a QuickBooks file, we report what the data actually shows, cite where each figure comes from in your own ledger, and never fill a gap with an estimate dressed up as a fact.
Want the same sourcing discipline on your own file? Start with a free QuickBooks review, or read the plain-English reference docs.